The Republic Day of India is celebrated on January 26 every year, the date on which the Constitution of India came into force. The Constitution replaced the Government of India Act 1935 as the governing document of India.

Even after independence of India on August 15, 1947, we did not have a permanent constitution. India was a Dominion, with George VI as head of state and Earl Mountbatten as Governor General.

On August 29, 1947, the Drafting Committee was appointed to draft a permanent constitution, with Bhimrao Ramji Ambedkar as chairman.

Chief Guest on Republic Day

India hosts another head of state as the chief guest on this republic day parade. Here is a list of all the chief guest in the last five years:

Year Guest Name Country
2006 King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz al-Saud Saudi Arabia
2007 President Vladimir Putin Russia
2008 President Nicolas Sarkozy France
2009 President Nursultan Nazarbayev Kazakhstan
2010 President Lee Myung bak Republic of Korea

Gallantry Awards on Republic Day:

President of India announces Gallantry Awards every year. On the 61st Republic day celebrations the President of India approved awards of 442 gallantry and other Defence decorations to Armed Forces personnel and others. This includes one Ashoka Chakra, six Kirti Chakras, 26 Shaurya Chakras, three Bar to Sena Medals (Gallantry), 118 Sena Medals (Gallantry), three Nao Sena Medals (Gallantry),three Vayu Sena Medals (Gallantry), 28 Param Vishisht Seva Medals, four Uttam Yudh Seva Medals, one Bar to Ati Vishisht Seva Medal, 50 Ati Vishisht Seva Medals, 16 Yudh Seva Medals, two Bar to Sena Medals (Devotion to Duty), 38 Sena Medals (Devotion to Duty), eight Nao Sena Medals (Devotion to Duty), 14 Vayu Sena Medals (Devotion to Duty), two Bar to Vishisht Seva Medals and 119 Vishisht Seva Medals.

Ashoka Chakra:

Havildar Rajesh Kumar, 11th Battalion, The Rajputana Rifles (Posthumous)

Kirti Chakra:

1. Major Suresh Suri, Kumaon Regiment /13 Rashtriya Rifles (Posthumous)

2. Major Pushpender Singh, Rajputana Rifles / 28 Assam Rifles

3. Shri Bhopal Singh, Sub Inspector (General Duty), Sashastra Seema Bal (Posthumous)

4. Shri Rel Deo Sangma, Constable, Member of the Special Operation Team, Meghalaya Police (Posthumous)

5. Ms. Rukhsana kosser, Shahdara Sharief (Morha Kalsi), Tehsil Thanamandi, Distt. Rajouri, J & K

6. Shri Ajaz Ahmed, Shahdara Sharief (Morcha Kalsi), Tehsil Thanamandi, District Rajouri, J&K